定居

一些移民签证类别允许个人在英国住满一定期限之后最终申请定居,也就是所谓的永久居留。 根据不同的移民类别,申请永居之前需要在英国住满的时间也有所不同。具体规定可见下表:

settlement
 

类别

申请永居需要住满的年限

在2012年7月8日之前申请的婚姻, 未婚伴侣 和民事伴侣

2 年

ECAA安卡拉协定下的自雇人员,高技能移民

4 年

在英国居留的艺术家, 民事伴侣,作曲家,高技能移民, 创新家, 投资者, 婚姻, 首席代表, T1第一层级 (所有类别), T2第二层级, 工作许可持有人 ,未婚伴侣, 作家 和欧盟公民  (及家庭成员 )

5 年

持续合法的居留

10 年

非法居留(或者合法居留与非法居留混合)

20 年

法律规定希望在英国长期定居的人必须参加“英国生活”考试以证明他们已经完全融入英国社会。有些人可以不受这个规定限制;具体名单参加英国边境管理局官方网站 . 这些特例包括: 65岁以上人士,长期遭受身体或精神痛苦不能参加测试的人,家庭暴力的受害者。一旦获得永居,个人将不再受移民法的限制,在工作和经商上也不再有时间限制。英国成为个人的居住地。但是,他们不能在英国以外居住两年以上。如果个人达到居住规定,在获得永居之后的12个月可以申请归化入籍。

移民法之外的申请

永居申请可以不在移民法框架内进行,这很大程度上取决于内政部的政策或者特批。很大程度上申请需要有同情的基础。

回归居民

回归的居民是已经处于定居状态但离开英国达两年或不足两年,目前回到英国永居。如果在英国以外的时间超过两年,个人必须展示他们大部分时间都在英国居住以及在这里有很强的家庭关系。

x

Settlement

Certain categories of immigration permit an individual to eventually apply for settlement, known as indefinite leave to remain (ILR), after completing a specified amount of time (limited leave) in the UK. The period of time spent in the UK before being able to apply for permanent residence differs according to the immigration category. The varying time limits are illustrated below:

settlement
 
Category Time needed for permanent residency
Marriage, unmarried partners and civil partners who applied on 8 July 2012 or before 2 years
ECAA Ankara Agreement – self-employed person, HSMP 4 years
Artists, civil partners composers, HSMP, innovators, investors, marriage, sole representatives, Tier 1 (all categories), Tier 2, work permit holders, unmarried partners, writers and EU nationals (and family members) who reside in the UK 5 years
Continuous lawful stay 10 years
Unlawful stay (or a combination of lawful and unlawful stay) 20 years

It is now a legal requirement that people who wish to settle in the UK on a permanent basis must take the “life in the UK” test to show that they are fully integrated into British society. Certain people are exempt from this requirement.Examples of those exempt include: those over 65, people with long-term physical or mental health problems that prevent them from being tested, and victims of domestic violence.
If granted indefinite leave to remain, the individual will no longer be subject to any immigration rules, limits or time restrictions regarding work or business. The UK is now considered the individual’s place of residence. However, they must not spend more than two years outside of the UK. If the individual has met all the residency requirements, it is normal procedure to apply for naturalisation 12 months after being granted indefinite leave to remain.

Applications Outside of the Immigration Rules

ILR applications can also be made outside of the Immigration Rules. This most commonly applies when the individual qualifies under a Home Office policy or concession. It also applies if the application is made on compassionate grounds.

Returning Residents

A returning resident is someone who has settlement status but has left the UK for two years or less and is now returning to live in the UK on a permanent basis. If the time spent outside of the UK exceeds two years, the individual will need to demonstrate that they have lived in the UK for most of their life or have strong family ties there.