英国公民和国籍申请

英国公民有不同的类别,每个类别都有不同的权利和名称。对于那些在英国以外出生的人,很难从血统上来展示他们是英国公民。

“英国国籍”的合法解释可以参见英国国籍法案1981(“BNA 1981”)。这个定义考量个人的出生日期和地点以及血统。
英国国籍法案1981中规定英国国籍类别如下:

移民法案1971规定,一定的英国公民/英籍人士可以在不受移民管控在英国居住和工作。这通常是在个人通过出生、血统、登记以及自然归化获得。

British Citizenship在英国国籍法案生效之前,任何1983年1月1日之前出生在英国的人都是英国公民。在此之后,如果孩子在英国出生,而父母任何一方在出生时为英国公民或已取得英国永久定居权,则自动获得英国公民权。

如果孩子出生在国外,但父母都是英国公民,则凭世系获得英国公民身份。如果孩子的第二代出生在海外,则不能自动获取英国公民身份。但是父母可以在孩子出生12个月内登记为英国公民,前提是英国公民父母在孩子出生或者递交申请日期前在英国居住三年以上。

自然归化

18岁以上拥有永久居留许可或无限制居留的个人,在英国住满五年(如果与英国公民结婚或者成为民事伴侣则需三年),可以递交归化公民申请。

如果丈夫、妻子或者民事伴侣在英国以外加冕或者指派服务,则其伴侣可递交归化入籍申请。

归化入籍的资格包括,申请人必须证明对英国语言和生活的 的充分认识,并且品行良好。这要求申请人通过英国生活考试或参加英语课程(ESOL)。

品行良好要求

品行良好要求适用于任何十岁以上的人。犯罪记录、未启用的刑事定罪等对于申请有负面影响,必须被清除。根据具体罪行,定罪的时间期限也不同。导致30个月以上监禁的罪行不被视为定罪。

x

British Citizenship and Nationality Applications

There are many categories of British nationals, each with a different set of rights and entitlements. For those born outside of the UK, it can be difficult to demonstrate that they are a British national by descent.

A legal definition of ‘British nationality’ is provided in the British Nationality Act 1981 (“BNA 1981”). This definition takes into consideration the individual’s date and place of birth and descent.
Different types of British nationals are defined in the BNA 1981:

Under the Immigration Act 1971, certain British citizens/subjects can live and work in the UK without being subject to immigration control. This occurs when the individual has obtained citizenship by birth, descent, registration or naturalisation.

British CitizenshipBefore the BNA came into force, individuals born in the UK before 01 January 1983 were considered to be British citizens by birth. After this date, if a child is born in the UK to a parent who is a British citizen or a settled person, the child will become a British citizen automatically.

If a child is born abroad to parents who are British citizens, they will acquire British citizenship status by descent. If a second generation of children is born abroad, they will not acquire it automatically. However, the parents can register the child as a British citizen within 12 months of the child being born, provided that the British citizen parent spent three or more years in the UK before the birth or the date of application.

Naturalisation

Individuals over 18 with indefinite leave to enter or remain or no time limit on their stay, who have also been living in the United Kingdom for the last five years (or three years if married/a civil partner to a British citizen), can submit an application for naturalisation as a British citizen.

An application for naturalisation may also be made if a person’s husband, wife or civil partner is in either crown or designated service outside the United Kingdom.

To be eligible for naturalisation, the individual must prove that they have sufficient knowledge of language and life in the UK; they must also demonstrate that they are of good character. This can be achieved by taking a test on “life in the UK” or by undertaking an ESOL (English for speakers of other languages) course.

Good Character Requirements

The good character requirements apply to anyone aged ten years old or older. With reference to criminal history, unspent criminal convictions can have a negative effect on an application and must be declared. Varying time limits apply regarding when a conviction will be declared ‘spent’ according to the crime committed. Crimes that incurred a custodial sentence of 30 months or longer will never be considered spent.