الجنسية البريطانية

المواطَنة البريطانية وطلبات الحصول على الجنسية
هناك فئات كثيرة من المواطنين البريطانيين ولكل فئة منها مجموعة مختلفة من الحقوق. فلأولئك الذين وُلِدوا خارج المملكة المتحدة قد يكون من الصعب عليهم إثبات أنهم مواطنين بريطانيين من حيث النسب.

ويرد تعريف قانوني "للجنسية البريطانية" في قانون الجنسية البريطانية لسنة 1981 (BNA 1981). حيث يأخذ هذا التعريف بعين الاعتبار تاريخ ومكان ميلاد الأشخاص ونسبهم.
ويحدد قانون الجنسية البريطانية لسنة 1981 (BNA 1981) أنواع مختلفة من الجنسية البريطانية:
· المواطنين البريطانيين،
· الرعايا البريطانيين (في الخارج)،
· المواطنين البريطانيين في الخارج،
· مواطني المقاطعات البريطانية في الخارج،
· البريطانيين ذوي الحصانة،
· الرعايا البريطانيين.

بموجب قانون الهجرة لعام 1971 يمكن لبعض المواطنين/الرعايا البريطانيين العيش والعمل في المملكة المتحدة دون الخضوع لمراقبة الهجرة. وهذا يحدث عندما يحصل الفرد على المواطَنة بالمولد أو النسب أو التسجيل أو التجنيس.

وقبل أن يصبح قانون الجنسية البريطانية (BNA) نافذ المفعول، تم اعتبار الأفراد الذين وُلِدوا في المملكة المتحدة قبل 01 يناير 1983 مواطنين بريطانيين بالمولد. وإذا وُلِد طفل في المملكة المتحدة بعد هذا التاريخ وكان أحد الوالدين مواطنًا بريطانيًا أو شخص مستوطن، فيصبح هذا الطفل مواطنًا بريطانيًا تلقائيًا.

وإذا وُلِد طفل في الخارج لأبوين مواطنين بريطانيين، فيحصل على المواطنة البريطانية بالنسب. وإذا وُلِد جيل ثاني من الأطفال في الخارج، فلا يحصلون على المواطنة تلقائيًا. ومع ذلك، يمكن للآباء تسجيل الطفل كمواطن بريطاني في غضون 12 شهرًا من ولادته شريطة قضاء أحد الوالدين البريطانيين ثلاثة أعوام أو أكثر في المملكة المتحدة قبل الولادة أو قبل تاريخ تقديم الطلب.

التجناس
يمكن للأفراد الذين تتجاوز أعمارهم 18 عامًا والذين لديهم إذن غير محدود بالمغادرة أو البقاء أو لا يوجد فترة محددة لإقامتهم والذين يعيشون في المملكة المتحدة على مدى الخمس سنوات الماضية (أو ثلاث سنوات في حالة الزواج/قرين مثلي من مواطن بريطاني) أن يتقدموا بطلب للتجانس كمواطنين بريطانيين.

ويمكن أيضًا تقديم طلب للتجنيس إذا كان زوج الشخص أو زوجته أو قرينه المثلي في خدمة المملكة أو في منصب معين خارج المملكة المتحدة.

ولكي يكون الفرد مؤهلًا للتجنيس يتعين عليه إثبات أنه لديه إلمام كافي باللغة والحياة في المملكة المتحدة ويجب أيضًا أن يبرهن على حسن السير والسلوك. ويمكن تحقيق ذلك من خلال إجراء اختبار على "الحياة في المملكة المتحدة" أو من خلال إتمام دورة ESOL (الانجليزية لمتحدثي اللغات الأخرى).

متطلبات حسن السير والسلوك
تنطبق متطلبات حسن السير والسلوك على أي شخص يتراوح عمره بين عشر سنوات أو أكثر. وفيما يتعلق بالتاريخ الجنائي، فعدم قضاء الإدانات الجنائية من شأنه أن يؤثر سلبًا على الطلب ويجب الإبلاغ عن ذلك. وتنطبق الفترات المحدودة فيما يتعلق بموعد الإبلاغ " قضاء" عن الإدانة وفقًا للجريمة المرتكبة. أما الجرائم التي تكبدت حكم بالسجن لمدة 30 شهرًا أو أكثر فلا تعتبر منقضية على الإطلاق.

x

British Citizenship and Nationality Applications

There are many categories of British nationals, each with a different set of rights and entitlements. For those born outside of the UK, it can be difficult to demonstrate that they are a British national by descent.

A legal definition of ‘British nationality’ is provided in the British Nationality Act 1981 (“BNA 1981”). This definition takes into consideration the individual’s date and place of birth and descent.
Different types of British nationals are defined in the BNA 1981:

Under the Immigration Act 1971, certain British citizens/subjects can live and work in the UK without being subject to immigration control. This occurs when the individual has obtained citizenship by birth, descent, registration or naturalisation.

British CitizenshipBefore the BNA came into force, individuals born in the UK before 01 January 1983 were considered to be British citizens by birth. After this date, if a child is born in the UK to a parent who is a British citizen or a settled person, the child will become a British citizen automatically.

If a child is born abroad to parents who are British citizens, they will acquire British citizenship status by descent. If a second generation of children is born abroad, they will not acquire it automatically. However, the parents can register the child as a British citizen within 12 months of the child being born, provided that the British citizen parent spent three or more years in the UK before the birth or the date of application.

Naturalisation

Individuals over 18 with indefinite leave to enter or remain or no time limit on their stay, who have also been living in the United Kingdom for the last five years (or three years if married/a civil partner to a British citizen), can submit an application for naturalisation as a British citizen.

An application for naturalisation may also be made if a person’s husband, wife or civil partner is in either crown or designated service outside the United Kingdom.

To be eligible for naturalisation, the individual must prove that they have sufficient knowledge of language and life in the UK; they must also demonstrate that they are of good character. This can be achieved by taking a test on “life in the UK” or by undertaking an ESOL (English for speakers of other languages) course.

Good Character Requirements

The good character requirements apply to anyone aged ten years old or older. With reference to criminal history, unspent criminal convictions can have a negative effect on an application and must be declared. Varying time limits apply regarding when a conviction will be declared ‘spent’ according to the crime committed. Crimes that incurred a custodial sentence of 30 months or longer will never be considered spent.